2008 Wembley


ROC winnerSébastien Loeb
ROC finalistDavid Coulthard
ROC semi-finalistsAndy Priaulx, Carl Edwards
ROC Nations Cup winnersGermany (Michael Schumacher/Sebastian Vettel)
ROC Nations Cup finalists Scandinavia (Mattias Ekström/Tom Kristensen)


Sébastien Loeb took his third Race Of Champions title, bringing him within one of the all-time record, after a tight victory over David Coulthard at Wembley. Coulthard took Loeb to the deciding third heat of the Grand Final but the Frenchman prevailed by just three tenths of a second.

Loeb had defeated WTCC great Andy Priaulx in the semi-final – after the Briton had delighted the home crowd by beating reigning champion Mattias Ekström a round earlier. Coulthard disposed of American NASCAR star Carl Edwards – the conqueror of no less than Michael Schumacher – in the other semi-final.

In the ROC Nations Cup, Team Germany’s Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel kept up their fine run of success, defeating Team Scandinavia’s Ekström and Tom Kristensen to retain the title they had won at Wembley a year earlier.